Working with backups in Yandex Managed Service for GitLab
Managed Service for GitLab supports automatic and manual instance backups. You can restore an instance or create a new one from a backup.
Warning
Along with the database, repositories, and attachments, the backup contains secrets, such as SSH keys and tokens.
For more information, see Backups in Yandex Managed Service for GitLab.
You can do the following:
- Getting a list of backups
- Creating a backup manually
- Restoring an instance from a backup
- Creating a new instance from a backup
- Using pre-signed URLs to download a backup and secrets
- Deleting a backup
Getting a list of backups
- Navigate
to Managed Service for GitLab. - Click the instance name and select the Backups tab.
Creating a backup manually
- Navigate
to Managed Service for GitLab. - Click the instance name and select the Backups tab.
- Click Create backup.
Restoring an instance from a backup
Warning
Restoring an instance will overwrite your current instance data.
- Navigate
to Managed Service for GitLab. - Click the instance name and select
Backups. - In the backup row, click
and select Restore instance. - In the window that opens, click Restore instance.
Tip
Creating a new instance from a backup
-
Navigate
to Managed Service for GitLab. -
Click the name of the backed up instance and select
Backups. -
In the backup row, click
and select Create instance from backup. -
Configure the new instance.
-
Under Restore settings, select which settings of the source instance you want to restore:
- Transfer data from Object Storage: For more information, see Integration with Object Storage.
- Transfer OmniAuth settings: For more information, see Setting up OmniAuth.
-
Click Create.
Using pre-signed URLs to download a backup and secrets
Warning
GitLab secrets contain confidential data. Never share backup and secret links with third parties.
- Navigate
to Managed Service for GitLab. - Click the instance name and select
Backups. - In the backup row, click
and select Get link. - In the Lifetime field, define the lifetime for the pre-signed URLs from one hour to seven days.
- Click Get link.
- Copy the pre-signed URLs from the Backup and GitLab Secrets fields.
- Follow each link to download the files.
Deleting a backup
Warning
You cannot restore a deleted backup.
- Navigate
to Managed Service for GitLab. - Click the instance name and select
Backups. - In the backup row, click
and select Delete backup. - In the window that opens, click Delete backup.